Tel: 01392 211909
Tel: 01392 211909

What our customers say about us

A selection of feedback from just some of our valued clients . . .

We have just received the new books back from our warehouse and want to thank you straight away for another wonderful job, turned around so quickly. The quality, as always, is second to none. Really well done. You have made our life a lot easier here. As you know, there are not many of us here and having you to deal with eases a lot of pressure and saves us a lot of time. Also, your expertise throughout is invaluable to us. Please pass on our thanks to the whole team and we look forward to dealing with you more soon. Keep up the great work.

                                                                RG - Military History Publisher  - July 2019

 

Hi folks. I’ve now received my batch of books and just wanted to say a big thanks to all of you for your help, patience and efforts with it. I know I’ve been fussy and pushy at points but the end result definitely makes that worth it as I’m very pleased with the end result.

 

GH - Independently published Sports Biography  - June 2019

 

Client loved the Bee book mate, many thanks to all involved.

 

AA - National Print Management Company - June 2019

 

Well, I must admit to being (pleasantly!) amazed! Just as the postman delivered the two ParcelForce boxes, I had a telephone call to say “are you at Knock-e-Dhooney to take delivery of a pallet?”! So, all arrived – and the contents look great as well! Thanks again.

 

DM - Archaeolgical Society - June 2019

 

Huge thanks to you all for getting David Stone's little Newcomer's Guide to Old Roses done, dusted and delivered. I am particularly grateful to Paul for his patient design and production help and swift responses throughout, to Mark for kindly agreeing to "see what he could do" and then pulling out all the stops to have it printed in time, and now to Sarah for getting it promptly shipped over to Michael, where I'm told it arrived this very morning. 

 

This means that our beautiful new booklet can star at the Plant Society Weekend this coming Saturday and Sunday at the Royal Horticultural Society's Gardens in Wisley, Surrey. You may have seen Wisley featured on national and local news this Monday with Alan Titchmarsh opening its big new Welcome Centre, so we expect a good turnout. 

 

https://www.standard.co.uk/go/london/attractions/wisley-garden-rhs-first-look-20-million-pound-revamp-a4161916.html  

 

Thank you all so much! 

 

Historic Roses Group - June 2019

 

Thank you very much for our lovely book. Everyone is very happy with quality and speedy delivery. As ever flawless performance! 

 

Oxford Archaeological Publisher - April 2019

 

We took delivery of Janet's book this morning. We are delighted with the results which are excellent. Thank you. We would like to say how pleased we are with the service we have received from Short Run Press. Although this was a small private order, it was dealt with in an exemplary fashion and we received the courtesy and attention that could not have been better if this had been a major commercial project. We were also delighted that the job was completed well ahead of our deadline. Please pass on our appreciation to all the team.

 

Janet & Dick Beardsall - March 2019

 

Many thanks for the latest consignment of books. Excellent work and delivered well before our requested date. Please pass on my thanks to all those involved in its production.

 

BS - OMRS- February 2019

 

I just wanted to say thank you for all of your support in getting Pleasures and Pains to print.  It arrived Monday and I got to see it yesterday and share it with the staff.  Everyone loves it. It looks fantastic and having it here earlier than expected makes everything much calmer for the launch next week. There are already plans underway for another volume on one of our other collectors.  Thanks to you all, I have learnt a lot from this process and so hopefully next time it will be much smoother and I will be less troublesome!  I hope we will be able to work with you again on this or another project. For now though, I am just very happy to have the book in my hands!

 

RB - Museum Publications Dept - January 2019

 

I must tell you that the feedback on the (Devon & Somerset) book, from a production quality point of view, has been very gratifying for all of us involved in this project and particularly me. The book was very kindly reviewed by the WMN, Country Life, Hounds Magazine (amongst other publications), and many have commented that the book looks and feels more "special" in the hand than a mainstream published book; without doubt this has helped the sales greatly. For me personally the whole process couldn't have been more straightforward, helped by a very amenable bunch of people at SRP. As for my principal contact, Paul Luffman, whom I tormented incessantly, frankly I wouldn't know where to start. Thank you all so much.

 

JW - Heartland Old Books - January 2019

 

A thousand thanks for getting the book to us in good time. It’s a splendid production. Hope you’re as proud of it as we are! The launch has hit the Tiverton Gazette, and we expect to be featured in the Devonshire Magazine also. Rivers and I are very grateful, and look forward to working with you again. Local Media Coverage

 

Siobhan Carew - October 2018

 

Thanks very much for going the extra mile with 'Down In Demerara'. The cover treatments have worked really well and the print and finishing quality throughout is excellent.  

RJ - Tangent Books - September 2018

 

I received my book today which looks great. The quality of the production, materials and colour is really good. Even with the last minute changes I made the whole process, on your part, has been carried out timely and with the utmost professionalism . . . Simon, thank you in dealing with the content and layout changes I made. 

DK - 'Grand Climateric of a Barfly' - August 2018

 

Like you I received a copy of the Band History through the post today. I wholly agree with your assessment on the job done by Short Run Press. They have indeed done justice to our combined endeavours. If possible please convey my thanks to the team at Short Run for their professionalism. The book is of such a high standard, scale and quality that I wouldn't have been surprised if the Coldstream Band hadn't charged double what they are asking for it!
 

John Gleeson - Author 'Pomp & Circumstance, The Band of the Coldstream Guards' - March 2018

 

I just wanted to say a very BIG thank you for printing Derek Sprake's book, An Isle of Wight Raconteur. The printing quality is perfect, as was the customer service and turnaround time and delivery arrangements! We have had a very positive response so far for the book, not only the content but for the look, feel and quality. I look forward to sending you further publications in the future.

 

SD - Coco Design Co - March 2018

 

I was brought a copy of the Shipwreck Book yesterday and I was very impressed with it. The pics all came out well and the binding is excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending Short Run Press to anyone.

 

CO - Book Designer - February 2018

 

The deliveries today went perfectly, with a helpful driver at the Wolverhampton end. The author is delighted with his book, so I am happy too! Thank you very much for all your help with this order. Without your close attention and patience with my many questions, it could have gone badly awry. Would you please also pass on my thanks and esteem for the wonderful job that your despatch team made of packing the books. It was a most professional job, and much appreciated.

 

TB - Bannister Publications Ltd - January 2018

 

You have no idea how joyful I am to have PNR 239 so wonderfully on time-ly. I think you are a hero. We look forward to a good new year and many further happy projects together! Thank you and your wonderful team for all you do and all you absorb. Very best for 2018, and for Christmas and all.

 

Michael Schmidt OBE FRSL - PN Review - December 2017

 

Thank you so much for the tour of the works. It really made a difference to know how the production line works. I was fascinated by the huge variety of books you have printed in the past - I could have browsed for hours! Please pass my thanks to all those I met, both for my visit and for the work they put in. About two dozen are now in circulation, and all the initial compliments are on the look of the book, the red and the gold, and on the feel of it. I will let you know later about a Russian language version, to meet that market!

 

OH - Historical Publisher - December 2017 

 

We are very pleased with the quality and professionalism you have shown and look forward to working with you on print and re-print runs in the future.

 

AM - High Quality Childrens Publisher – November 2017

 

I picked up the books last week and am really pleased with how it turned out. It feels great and looks just right, so thank you for your skilled input.

 

Charles Montgomery – November 2107

 

The Book was very well received at the book signing. Lots of people asked who had printed it and we directed them to you. Thank you very much for all your hard work, we are really pleased with it.

 

Alice Bird – Lifeforce - November 2017

 

The books arrived safely yesterday (I was out all day) and look very nice indeed. Could you please pass on my thanks to all at Short Run Press for all you have done this year. I am especially aware that you had a struggle to deliver these last two books on time and am really grateful that you did. The next book will be sent to you sometime towards the end of January.

 

CH - GGB – November 2017

 

The team at Short Run Press is a delight to work with - first class quality, enjoyable company and attentive service. During 49 years book publishing and writing, I have bought print and worked with printers from all over the world but rarely met the efficiencies and quiet understanding that is the deal here.

 

Piers Dudgeon - Pilot Productions - November, 2017

 

We have just been reviewed on Radio BBC London by Robert Elms who has said that it is a beautifully printed book!

 

CB - London Art Publisher - November 2017

 

 

We have just taken delivery this morning and we are absolutely delighted with the books you have produced for us and want to thank you all for the quality, service and attention you have given us. The author is as pleased as I am! The morning delivery as arranged by you Debbie happened around 10am - just perfect. We shall speak highly of SRP at every opportunity.

 

Chalkface Press - Australia - October 2017

 

Just to confirm the copies of the Anne Boleyn Music Book have arrived at the RCM.  They look fantastic, everyone who has seen copies from our Director down is really impressed with them.  The print quality is incredibly clear and true, and both binding types are superb.  Thanks for getting them to us so quickly (especially the special binding).

 

PL - Royal College of Music - September 2017

 

Thanks for the good job on our last publication, P413. As you already know, the publications arrived in-time for the seminar, which was crucial so thank you again for managing that.

 

JLD - SCI - September 2017

 

Let me say, how impressed I have been with your service all round. I think it was about 5 weeks between my first phone call and receiving the books, so I couldn't ask for better than that. Also, the actual printing of the book has been of a significantly higher standard than I have had elsewhere - from the cover, to the stitching, to the paper quality to the actual printing - well done all round, guys.

 

LB - Historic Car Publisher- September 2017

 

The book arrived and looks fantastic, thank you.

 

Historic England - September 2017

 

The book looks fantastic, thank you for doing such a great job.

 

RH - The Last Blacksmith - August 2017

 

Books arrived - beautifully timed thank you. Quality is spot-on and your service was excellent. I will be tweeting etc about you tomorrow. Thank you all - we are so pleased to have a local supplier [in the UK - ed].

 

CB - Notting Hill Editions – August 2017

 

 

Just a short note to thank you and your colleagues for producing such a fabulous book for me. Everyone is saying nice things about it, and most are pleasantly surprised by the sheer quality of it.

 

DM - Exeter's Royal Clarence Hotel - July 2017

 

 

Stock safely delivered early this morning.  A superb piece of work executed in record time.  Please pass my congratulations and thanks to everyone involved in producing the book at SRP, including your packers & despatchers who rendered the load 
​rain-proof. Delivered here in the rain but unloaded without detriment!

 

DH - Fontaine Notre Dame – May 2017

 

I just wanted to thank you and your team for the great print job. It looks and feels fantastic and everyone is very complimentary. The launch went very well – so thanks for getting it to us on time.

 

RH - Hawker Publications – November 2016

 

Can I congratulate Short Run Press for the service I have received and the high quality of the books. I will be back next year.

 

JH - Self Published Author – October 2016

 

Just to advise the books have reached the UN in New York. The Chief of Staff Office of the UN Special Envoy for Global Production said “they look beautiful”, so I thought I had to share the praise with you. All delivered on time and well received, so many thanks to you both and everyone involved.

 

AJ - Topics Creative Partnership – September 2016

 

I have been through the book with the author – we are both delighted by the quality of production. Many thanks again for a superb job.

 

DD - Dawson Heritage – April 2016

 

I would like to thank you for the great service from Short Run Press and the way you dealt with my fifth novel. Please pass on my thanks to your team and I look forward to coming back to you with further novels.

 

GS - Tabitha Books

 

I'd like to thank all of you for all the work that you've done during the time I've been here. In a small company, being an editor involves a far wider responsibility for the whole production of a book than it does in bigger companies, and I had a lot of catching up to do at the beginning (still do, actually). It has made a huge difference to know that I've been able to rely on such a great team who were always on hand with explanations and advice, who would patiently correct mistakes, who could pull off ridiculously short deadlines without compromising quality, and who never seemed to be panicked by anything! (I don't think I'll ever forget the delivery that Debbie organised to a poetry reading in the Lake District at a few hours notice, getting the driver to the venue just minutes before the poet was due to start reading.)

 

JW - Managing Editor

 

There must be some reason for Carcanet having printed almost all of its books and magazines with Short Run Press for over 20 years. Could it be price? Could it be quality? Could it be dependability? Perhaps a combination of all three and the fact that SRP is always willing to go the extra mile.

 

MS - Carcanet Press

 

We greatly value the close relationship we have developed with Short Run Press over the last 14 years and look forward to working with you on future projects.

 

AH - University of Exeter Press

 

Your new press is certainly doing a good job, but I am sure there is another great ingredient. Watching your guys moving round the factory completing one task after another, and then moving with the job to the next machine was most impressive and memorable, and I guess that is a part of the secret to your good work.

 

DB - Oxbow Books

 

I just wanted to pass on huge thanks from Debbie and myself for the superb job you did on the book. It looks superb and the printing has managed to capture the vibrant colours even better than we had hoped.

 

BM - McCreadie Publishing

 

SRP have been really good to work with - approachable, personable and always helpful - and at times have gone above and beyond to get things done for us.

 

JB - Taylor and Francis

 

Just a line to say that the printing of the report is superb, the cover works a treat, thanks for the suggestion. It's quite the most polished piece of print for its annual report the Society has managed in its 65 years.

 

TD - Design Agency Owner

 

Please thank everyone concerned for their hard work on producing The Devon Historian 2015. I have had quite a few positive comments already, several have said that its a 'classy' looking journal and very well produced. I'm grateful to Paul for being so patient during the typesetting process, he takes a lot of trouble to get things right. Also, it was good to get the journals out before the AGM this year, which is at Exeter University on Saturday.

 

JB - Devon Historian

 

I think the job has come out very well. I am so pleased you were able to source the correct grain paper. What a difference that makes to the feel of the book in the hand.

 

RD - Designer for Museum Exhibition Catalogues

Tel: 01392 211909

Short Run Press Ltd

Bittern Road

Sowton Industrial Estate

Exeter

Devon

EX2 7LW

Print Print | Sitemap
© Short Run Press 2016